top of page

The 7 Chakras & Why They Matter

Updated: Jun 11, 2020

When our chakras are aligned we achieve a physical and spiritual balance in our life and we can openly receive the energies of the universe. Unexpected and seemingly negative events can happen around us, but we remain unaffected by it. Now what happens when our chakras are not aligned? Well we’re distracted and not operating at our full capacity. We become disrupted, not only mentally but physically as well.

Here’s a little crash course on the seven chakras and why they matter:

First, Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Located at the base of the spine. The Root Chakra is associated with security, safety, survival, grounding and basic needs like food, shelter and sleep.

When out of balance this can manifest as prostate problems, constipation, arthritis, eating disorders, knee pain, immunity problems and stress about financial issues.

Second, Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

Located below the navel. The Sacral Chakra is associated with emotions, relationships, creativity and sexuality.

When out of balance this can manifest as urinary problems, kidney dysfunctions, co-dependency issues and hip/pelvic/lower back pain. It can also lead to extreme feelings of sexual obsession, or alternatively a complete disinterest in sex.

Third, Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Located in the abdomen. The Solar Plexus Chakra is associated with willpower, intellect, confidence, self-discipline, decision making and personal identity.

When out of balance it can manifest as fear of rejection, chronic fatigue, digestive issues, lack of ambition, pancreatic and gallbladder issues, and constant self criticism.

Fourth, Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Located in the center of the chest. The heart chakra is associated with self love, empathy, forgiveness, compassion, acceptance, transformation and allows the process of healthy grief followed by feelings of peace.

When out of balance it can manifest as asthma, upper back/shoulder problems, arm/wrist pain, respiratory ailments, holding grudges, fear of loneliness, jealousy, and acting anti-social.

Fifth, Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Located in the base of the throat. The Throat Chakra is associated with expression, communication (verbal or non-verbal), creation, good timing and realizing your purpose or vocation in life.

When out of balance it can manifest as a fear of speaking, thyroid issues, unable to listen to others, sore throat, “small voice”, ear infections, unable to keep your word, neck and shoulder pain, oversharing, and lack of control over speech.

Sixth, Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Located on the forehead. The Third Eye Chakra is associated with vision, intuition, wisdom, insight, psychic abilities and creative motivation.

When out of balance it can manifest as headaches, lack of clarity, sinus issues, fantasies that appear more real than reality, blurred vision, moodiness/stubbornness, and inability to see the “big picture” beyond your problems.

Seventh, Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Located on the top of the head. The Crown Chakra is associated with higher consciousness, wisdom, presence, ecstasy, and feelings of connection with the “limitless”.

When out of balance it can manifest as closed-mindedness, analysis paralysis, rigid thoughts, and fear of alienation. It can also manifest itself as the extremes of feeling disconnected from your body and earthly matters or obsessive attachment to spiritual matters.

Spiritual growth, usually achieved through various forms of meditation and mindfulness, allows our soul to regain control of our chakras and solve many mental and physical problems before they take over our lives.

201 views0 comments
bottom of page